Mike's Place
Home Page



I was born in La Mirada, a city in Southern California near Disneyland. I lived there until college, although we did move once from one side of La Mirada to the other. I went to Sunny Hills High School in Fullerton. Ever since I left it's had problems. Coincidence? I think not!

I was a Regents' Scholar at the University of California at Berkeley. I graduated with a B.S. in EE/CS and a minor in physics.

I received a School of Engineering fellowship at Stanford University, where I earned a Ph.D. I worked in the group of Professor Dan Boneh, where I concentrated on the intersection of electrical engineering and cryptography. More information is waiting for you on my research page.

I was married in October 2005 to my girlfirend of 9.75 years. We honeymooned in Italy.


I have a great family, but they live 500 miles away and I don't get to see them much. My Dad is a city councilman in La Mirada and teaches pharmacy tech. at a local college. My brother graduated from Yale and is now a graduate student in Electrical Engineering at the University of Washington in Seattle. My Mom is the reason that we're still sane. She does a lot of volunteer work in the comunity.
My parents have a cat, Thorn, who has to live in the laundry room because he goes to the bathroom on the furniture. They also have a dog, Puppy, who was a stray a many years ago and is now a member of the family. Puppy loves everyone.

Our dog, Rose, died a few years ago. She was a Cairn Terrier, like Toto in The Wizard of Oz. She was very old, and luckily I happened to visit only a few days before it happened. I was her favorite, and she was mine.

We have some more pets, but they have their own page.


I was the president of a couple of martial arts clubs at Stanford, the Stanford Aikido Club, and the Aiki-weapons club, but I had to abdicate the presidencies to work on my disesrtation. I still practice both martial arts, though, and also practice weapons under Tetsutaka Sugawara. In the past I dabbled in Hung Gar kung fu, Judo, wrestling, Tai Chi, and Systema, and wish I could continue to practice them all.

I try to lift weights and jog a couple of times each per week. I enjoy reading science fiction, fantasy, and horror books and listen mostly to classic rock, heavy metal, and 80's music.

And now, what you've all been waiting for... Cathy! She's the bestest. Almost 11 years and we're still going strong.

Contact Mike